Sprouts

I just checked my garden, and I have tiny little tomatoes. In June. Maybe that means that we will have homegrown, Heirloom tomatoes to eat before September. Because we live in the mountains, our garden is always way behind, and our tomatoes are only around for about a month before we have frost or snow.

Look what else is coming up…Beets! And the swiss chard is trying to sprout. I planted swiss chard twice last year, and I didn’t have even one plant. No sign of the carrots yet.

The peas, and green beans are coming along, and the zucchini is very happy with the hot weather we have been having the last few days.

My garden is very organic, and I spend a lot of time weeding, watering and looking at my plants. It is right outside my sewing studio, and I love looking at it. Anybody know how to make a scarecrow? I really don’t know how to start, and I think it would be fun in my country garden. Maybe it would scare the deer away?

I have a large crop of volunteer sunflowers that have made an appearance.

…and I think if you look closely, you can see the corn actually growing!

6 thoughts on “Sprouts

  1. Awww, I love those baby tomatoes! Bet they are going to be delicious too.
    Hey! I know some girls who made a really good scarecrow one time. Maybe they can bring some supplies with them when they visit next month if you’d like help?
    Beautiful garden! (jealous;)

  2. From what I can see, your garden looks wonderful!

    Sadly, I’ve never made a scarecrow so I’m of no help whatsoever!

    One of my favorite quotes” Tickle the earth with a hoe and it will laugh you a harvest” – Mary Cantrell. I try to keep that in mind while I’m out amongst my veggies…

Leave a Reply

